HD Video Video

Voetvolk | Lisbeth Gruwez ‘The Sea Within’

A new feature filmed at Coda Oslo International Dance festival in October 2019, right before all the really crazy stuff started happening in the world.

The company say this much about the work;

“Having finished her highly acclaimed ‘triptych of the ecstatic body’ – comprising It’s going to get worse and worse and worse, my friendAH/HA and We’re pretty fuckin’ far from okay – Lisbeth Gruwez is changing course.

The eruptive choreographies that established her reputation are now making space for incessantly swirling magma. The Sea Within is a magnetising dance performance in which Gruwez no longer wants to order the chaos, but lets the chaos create or become its own order. Still just as sharp and intense, but no longer zooming in on individuals, she lets ten dancers dissolve in a grand, breathing landscape.

For the first time in her career Gruwez is not dancing her own choreography but selected a group of ten female dancers. Ten powerful lotus flowers that are symbols of connection. Together, they bring a new, contemporary ritual in which the ‘we’ embraces the ‘I’.

As usual, Maarten Van Cauwenberghe is writing the score to this performance, assisted by Elko Blijweert and Bjorn Eriksson. Minimalistic synths and a tingling game with frequencies push their electronic sound design to the bottom of your senses.”

Concept and choreography by Lisbeth Gruwez

Music and sound design: Maarten Van Cauwenberghe, Elko Blijweert, Bjorn Eriksson

Dancers: Ariadna Gironès Mata, Charlotte Petersen, Cherish Menzo, Daniela Escarleth Romo Pozo, Francesca Chiodi Latini, Jennifer Dubreuil Houthemann, Natalia Pieczuro, Sarah Klenes, Sophia Mage & Chen-Wei Lee.

Filmed at Dansens Hus in Oslo, Norway on October 23 2019.

Press Photo by Danny Willems