Audition 'Johann Strauss Gala Tour (UK)'

Closes on May 1, 2017 and is for Male and Female dancers

Raymond Gubbay Limited is currently seeking 6 dancers (3 male, 3 female) to perform in the Johann Strauss Gala tour 2017/2018. This is a semi-staged show featuring orchestra, dancers and soprano and tenor soloists performing a programme of primarily Viennese music conducted and presented by John Rigby, and choreographed/directed by Alexandra Worrall.

Rehearsals and Performances

Rehearsals in London will begin on Tuesday 12 December 2017 and run until Saturday 23 December 2017 and then after Christmas, from Tuesday 26 December 2017 to Saturday 30 December 2017. Rehearsals will be from 10am-6pm each day (except Sundays). The first performance is at the Barbican on Saturday 31 December 2017 and the tour finishes on Sunday 28 January 2018 in Belfast. There will be between 2 and 4 performances a week in concert halls across the UK, as well as in Dublin. The draft performance schedule is below: 

Barbican Hall, London, Saturday 31 January 2017, 7.30pm
Symphony Hall, Birmingham, Sunday 1 January 2018, 2.30pm
Royal Concert Hall, Nottingham, Monday 2 January 2018, 3pm
Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, Saturday 6 January 2018, 3pm
Usher Hall, Edinburgh, Sunday 7 January 2018, 3pm 
Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool, Saturday 13 January 2018, 3pm 
Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, Sunday 14 January 2018, 3pm
Royal Festival Hall, London, Saturday 20 January 2018, 2.30pm 
New Theatre, Oxford, Sunday 21 January 2018, 3pm 
National Concert Hall, Dublin, Saturday 27 January 2018, 3.15pm and 8pm
Waterfront Hall, Belfast, Sunday 28 January 2018, 3pm

(Please note that this is provisional and subject to change and there will be up to a three-hour rehearsal on the morning or afternoon of each performance as appropriate). 

Publicity Shoot

A publicity shoot is also scheduled for Sunday 4 June 2017 in London. Dancers' participation in this would be required as part of the contract.

Auditions

We will be holding some auditions during the day on Monday 1 May 2017 in London (with recalls on Tuesday 2 May) and would be interested to receive details of dancers fully available for the rehearsal and performance period with strong classical technique. For ladies, some pointe work may be required and male dancers should have experience in double work. Both would need to be demonstrated at audition.  

For consideration for audition, please submit CVs and photographs to Madeleine [email protected]

Subscribe to Auditons and Updates